If you're the task creator, you will see:
New - The doer has not responded to the task yet.
In Progress - The doer has acknowledged the task and has begun.
Followup Needed - The doer has requested more information or a checkpoint.
Done - The doer has finished a task and is requesting a completion.
If you're the task doer, you will see:
New - A brand new task has been assigned.
Comments Added - The assigner has commented on your task.
Completed - Your task has been approved by the assigner.
The task creator always has to approve and close a task by changing a Done to Completed.
Escalation - Reserved for the highest priority.
When creating tasks, you have 2 options: fewer options or more options.
Fewer options: This is the simplest task building format. It allows you to set a priority, choose from the groups that you belong to choose a team member to assign the task to, set a due date, enter the task subject and task details.
More options: This task format will allow you to do everything above plus mark the task as recurring, set up overdue alerts and create an iCalendar file to attach to the task announcement email.
Both task types allow you to alert the task doer of the new task in the system and both task types are always editable by the task owner at any time.
When you sign up you have the option of creating a new group or joining an existing group.
If you're joining a group, be sure that you've got the group ID and the group password from the owner. If you were invited to join via email, you can either enter the information yourself or click the join link in the email.
If you're creating a new group, you just have to specify the group name, set the group password.
As a group owner, you can control the group membership and the group posting rules. You can allow anyone to create tasks within the group, only group admins, or only the group owner.
To invite other team members to the group, just click the invite link and add an invitation message along with the email address you'd like to invite.
Once your team members join the group, you can edit their roles within the group.
By default, when you sign up for Punchwire your Daily Digest will be enabled. This is a daily message that contains a copy of your current dashboard of tasks for and by you. To disable the digest, just go into your account settings and turn it off.
Punchwire sends email alerts when tasks are created or statuses change. These can easily be disabled by unchecking the box when creating a new task or posting an update.
In cases where the overdue alert option was selected when a new task was created, the task doer will receive daily email alerts until the task is completed. Only the task creator can disable the overdue alert.